Tarot Exercise: My Mission in Life

I realize this blog has been very quiet. No, it is not because I have lost interest. It is because I have been taking the time to study and become reacquainted with the Tarot. I have learned a lot.

In the course of my reading and learning, I have found some new spreads, including this one. There are two parts to this reading. The first asks “What is my purpose in life?” and the second asks “How will I fulfill my purpose?”

I have used the Diamond Tarot for this reading.

With that said, let’s get started:

What is my purpose in life?

V The Hierophant
XIX The Sun
II The High Priestess

The Hierophant: Personal growth, spirituality
The Sun: New beginnings
The High Priestess: Using hidden talents and skills

My mission in life is to teach personal growth and how to take advantage of new beginnings by using hidden talents/skills (creativity?) to other people.

How will I fulfill my purpose?

9 of Wands
7 of Swords
7 of Wands
2 of Cups

I will achieve my mission by drawing on my own experience and perseverance (9W), counseling/advising people (7S), recognizing success in myself and others (6W, and sharing what I have learned/achieved (2C).

This reinforces what I have always thought my life purpose to be. With recent experiences, it seems like I am on my way to fulfilling thatt through teaching in-person classes, writing (books and articles), and general networking.

How to do this reading for yourself:

Separate the Major Arcana from the rest of the deck. Set the Minor Arcana aside. While thinking about the question (“What is my purpose in life?”), shuffle the Major Arcana. Fan the cards out in front of you. Choose 3 and lay them face-down.

Now take the Minor Arcana. While thinking about the question (“How will I fulfill my mission?”), shuffle the cards.  When you’re ready, fan them out in front of you and choose 4. Place them face-down in a row under the first cards you pulled.

First turn the 3 Major Arcana cards over and make note of what they are. Repeat with the 4 Minor Arcana. Read them as a story where the Majors tell you your purpose and the Minors tell you how you will fulfill it.

If you don’t read Tarot or don’t read for yourself:

Contact me to discuss getting a Life Mission reading.

