New Book

Last night, I was browsing in Waldenbooks. I found a few books I wanted and ended up on the New Age aisle. (This is a store that’s not really familiar to me, so I wasn’t exactly sure where it was.)

The Everything Tarot Guide by Skye Alexander (published by Adams Media) was facing out.

Since I’m admittedly quite rusty regarding Tarot, reading and mythology, I got it. I’ll let you know what I think of it.

Anyone have any Tarot books, whether they be beginners’ guides or otherwise, that you have read and would like to share?

5 thoughts on “New Book

  1. My first Tarot book was _Tarot For Yourself_ by Mary K Greer. I’m giving a copy away on Friday on my blog in conjunction with an interview that I’m just SO excited about. 🙂

    I’ll also do a post on the books I personally think a reader should have. LOL But the TFY is the best I’ve ever seen.

    I’d also say Eden Gray as well as A.E. Waite for Tarot classics.

  2. That’s sometimes how I choose books, too. Whatever’s sticking out or falls down.

    I like Learning the Tarot by Joan Burning. It’s down to earth although perhaps it’s subject isn’t. It’s informative rather then trying to impress. I think it’s insights are smart and accurate, and have depth, although no one book could cover everything.

    Another book I really like comes with a really cool tarot deck also. It’s called The Beginners Guide to Tarot by Juliet Sharman-Burke. She’s written several tarot guides, but I like this one the best. It approaches the tarot in a deep human psychological way. It has some excellent insights, as well, and comes with a beautiful deck called The Sharman-Burke-Caselli deck.

    Unfortunately for some weird reason although the the book is decent sized, its physically attached to and used as the bottom of the box the cards comes in, but you could just cut it off like I did and buy a tarot bag for the cards. I suggest Annabelle’s ebay tarot bag store:

    http://stores.ebay.com/Anabelles

    Cheap and good!

Comments are closed.